Portland Cup, Houghwood GC, 27th April 2023

Portland Cup, Houghwood GC, 27th April 2023

The 2nd Portland event of the year saw us head out to St Helens to Houghwood Golf Club. The traditional bacon muffins were served on arrival and the weather seemed kind though a little windy. A late withdrawal from the ex mayor Chris Murphy due to illness meant a slight rearrangement of tees with 25 of us taking part.  The Captain, President and Joe Boyd started us off, though a lost ball early on meant  they let the next group through with the responsibility of putting out the nearest the pin markers. 

You don’t expect o find a mountain course in St Helens but it was a challenge with oxygen required on every climb. The guys who took the buggies made the best decision as each next tee marker seemed to keep pointing up. It’s a mystery how we climbed up for twelve holes but only down for 3. Nonetheless it was an enjoyable day and the welcome pint at the end of it was well received. 

There were 5 par 3’s in total with plenty of scope for getting a 2 and a share of the money. Rob Chadwick, Johnny Shepard and Jim Cleary were the recipients of the pot. Bizarrely the hole chosen for the longest drive was the 18thand as it was on this course an uphill climb greeted us at the end of an already tiring day, the accolade of least tired golfer was picked up by Andy Howarth. 

With all the cards apparently in, Keith Bolton was about to be declared the winner, when ex Captain Ernie Rowlands suddenly produced the cards for himself and Martin Claffey, lo and behold Martin had pipped Keith by 2 points.  Martin constantly complains that his handicap is too low, well now its even lower by 2 shots. 

Next event will be held at Royal Blackley for the Presidents Cup on 19th May, get your entries in early as demand is bound to be huge to play this prestigious course. 


Nearest Pin    
2 Mike Smith  
4 Johnny Shepard  
8 Jim Cleary  
10 Joe Boyd  
16 Joe Boyd  
2's Rob Chadwick  
  Johnny Shepard  
  Jim Cleary  
Longest Drive Andy Howarth  
Results Name Pts
Mention Mike Smith 32
5th John Coburn 32
4th Jim Cleary 33
3rd Graham Murray 33
2nd Keith Bolton 34
1st Martin Claffey 36


Winner Martin Claffey receives his trophy from Captain John Coburn.